Genius Hour Cooking Week 4: Homemade Baked Potato Chips

This week for my genius hour post, I wanted to cook something that would be a good snack to serve as an appetizer or a side dish for a meal. I wanted something quick, healthy, but also yummy that was versatile for different meals. I decided cooking my own potato chips would be the perfect match.

I found the recipe that I planned to use on Tasty, a popular Facebook cooking page run by Buzzfeed. Tasty shares multiple recipes every week and demonstrates them in a video so you can watch how each item is made. The video that I used gave four different recipes for four different flavors of potato chips called “Baked Potato Chips 4 Ways“. I chose to try the Barbecue flavor and the Ranch flavor.

dsc_0196

The ingredients I used are listed below:

Barbecue Chips:

  •  3 Gold Potatoes
  • 1 tbsp Olive Oil
  • 1 tbsp Paprika
  • 1 tbsp Chili Powder
  • 1 tbsp Salt
  • 1 tbsp Pepper
  • 2 tbsp Brown Sugar
  • 1 tsp Garlic Powder

Ranch Chips:

  • 3 Gold Potatoes
  • 1 packet of Ranch Mix
  • 1/4 cup Chives
  • 1 tsp Salt
  • 1 tsp Pepper

To begin, I preheated the oven to 350º. Next, I washed 6 gold potatoes and placed them to the side to dry. Starting with the barbecue chips, I set aside three potatoes and started with the others. I was ready to slice the potatoes, but wanted to use the proper technique. I found a video on YouTube called How-To: Thinly Sliced Potatoes, where I learned a new skill. For this, I sliced off a portion of the side of the potato, and then placed it with that side down to keep the potato steady. This allowed me to create proportional slices.

dsc_0200

Once I had thinly sliced 3 potatoes, I threw them in a bowl and tossed the dry ingredients and the olive oil on top. With a spatula, I mixed them together and made sure that each slice of potato had a reasonable amount of barbecue flavoring.

dsc_0201dsc_0204dsc_0208

Next I did the same process with the ranch chips. On a greased cooking sheet, I placed the chips down close, but giving them a little room surrounding them. I placed them in the oven for 35 minutes, and cleaned up while I waited. dsc_0210

Once the 35 minutes was up, I pulled the chips out of the oven to find they had over-cooked a tad. This could have been because I preheated the oven very early compared to when I put the chips in. Luckily, there were quite a few chips that survived.

dsc_0222dsc_0223dsc_0226

I let the chips cool off, and then tried my first one. It was the perfect baked potato chip because it was crisp, but chewy in the middle. The flavoring on the barbecue chips was a little strong, however the ranch chips turned out perfectly. This baking process was a great learning experience for me because I was able to learn from my mistakes. I also was able to learn new skills when slicing and mixing that I can use in the future. I would recommend these chips to anyone who wants a healthier alternative to processed chips, or to anyone looking for a gourmet chip for entertaining. I will definitely try these again!

dsc_0233dsc_0240dsc_0244

dsc_0248dsc_0238

-Tinsley

#8edit2000

Leave a Reply

