Genius Hour Week 3: Vegetarian Cauliflower Pizza

This week for my Genius Hour post, I wanted to try something a little bit uncommon for myself. Growing up with a dad from Texas who loves to cool and a brother who adores ribs, I have always been partial to meat. In my eyes, a nice burger is all I need to get me through a bad day. However, this week I went out of my norms and tried something new, something vegetarian. This week for my meal, I made cauliflower pizza crust and paired it with an assortment of vegetables. The time it took to make it was longer than usual, however it was delicious so I did not mind.

I always knew it was possible to make cauliflower pizza, however I needed a recipe to give me the steps. I found this one on Pinterest that claimed to be “the BEST cauliflower pizza recipe” so I gave it a try.

As always, my first step was to gather my ingredients from Kroger.

Ingredients: 

  • 1 head of cauliflower
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried basil leaves
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
  • a few shakes of crushed red pepper flakes
  • 1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1/4 cup shredded parmesan cheese
  • 1/4 cup shredded mozzarella cheese
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tablespoon almond meal (can be found in organic section)

After I got all that I needed, I came home and started by turning my oven on to 450°. I did this first so that I could put my baking sheet in the oven to heat up while I prepared my food so that it would be warm when I put the dough on it to cook.

Next, I got out my food processor and began to prepare the cauliflower. I cut the florets off of the head of cauliflower, removing the stems, and placed them into the food processor. Because my food processor is small, I had to do this about seven times, placing the cauliflower into a bowl after each round. The cauliflower is supposed to look like snow flakes at this point, and there should be about 3 cups of cauliflower to create your pizza.

dsc_0169

Next, take the cauliflower in a microwave safe bowl, and heat it in the microwave for 4 minutes, covering the bowl with a small plate. Once it is warmed up, lay out a dish towel on top of a cutting board or hard surface, and dump the bowl of cauliflower on top. Wrap the cauliflower in the towel, and allow it to cool.

dsc_0172

While the cauliflower is cooling, you can prepare the rest of your dough. Take the dry ingredients and mix them together in a bowl. Once sifted together, add the egg and mix with your hands.

dsc_0175

After mixing the dry ingredients and the egg. Take the cauliflower in the towel and ring it out of the sink. It is important to get as much water out as possible so that the crust forms to the perfect texture. After you ring it out, mix it in with the other ingredients using your hands and create a ball of dough.

dsc_0178

In the next step, remove the cooking sheet from the oven. On a cutting board, lay a piece of parchment paper and spray it with cooking spray. Place the dough on top of the parchment paper and form it into a pizza shape. Make sure to keep it tight and press out any air bubbles.

dsc_0180

Once the pizza is shaped, lift the parchment paper onto the cooking sheet, and place it in the oven for about 8 minutes. This will allow your crust to bake before adding the toppings. Personally, I do not love tomato sauce so I chose to make a three-cheese white pizza using mozzarella, parmesan, and feta cheese. dsc_0183

When the pizza was done baking, I pulled it out and added olive oil on top. I then sprinkled the cheeses on top with a dash of salt and pepper. After, I placed it back in the oven for 6 minutes, or until it was browned and the cheese was melted. Once it looked ready, I pulled it out to cool while I prepared some vegetables I was reheating from the night before.

dsc_0186

After the vegetables were heated, I was ready to eat. This pizza was the perfect size for me, and even allowed for two left over slices that I heated up on the stove the next day. Although it was more challenging to make, it was definitely worth it. I would recommend this pizza to anyone looking for a healthier option to regular pizza. It had great texture, and tasted pretty close to the real deal!

dsc_0189

dsc_0192

dsc_0194

I am happy that I was able to share this delightful dish on my blog. It was perfect for a nice, fall day while I ate on my back porch. I can’t wait to try this again, but maybe with some extra toppings next time.

-Tinsley

#8edit2000

 

Leave a Reply

