Genius Hour Cooking Week 2: Dad’s Boneless Buffalo Chicken Wings

This week for my Genius Hour Cooking Challenge, I learned to make my Dad’s Boneless Buffalo Chicken Wings. I wanted to make a chicken dinner this week, to give myself variety. Earlier this year, when my dad heard about my issues with cooking, he put together a recipe book for me of his favorite homemade dinners because he is the chef in my household. Included in this book of recipes were items like salmon, roasted potatoes, and his boneless wings.  These wings were not too hard to make and I would suggest them to anyone who wants to take on a fun, spicy meal.

DSC_0162.jpg

I started by gathering my ingredients. This recipe called for:

  • 1 lb boneless, skinless chicken thighs
  • 2 tbsp canola oil
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 1/2 garlic powder
  • 3 tbsp flour
  • 1/2 cup Buffalo Wing Sauce

The ingredients were easier to find this week, partly because I had items such as salt, pepper, garlic salt, flour, and canola oil. I was able to find the chicken thighs easily at Kroger, as well as the Buffalo Wing Sauce, and I also grabbed some brussels sprouts to make with the wings.

First, I went ahead and preheated the oven to 400 degrees so that it would be ready for me when I finished preparing the food. I then took the chicken thighs and cut them into about 1/2 inch strips from the top to bottom. Once those were sliced, I set them aside and prepared the dry ingredients to dip the wings in. For this, I mixed together the salt, pepper, garlic salt, and flour, and tossed the chicken wings in.

dsc_0166

dsc_0175

Next, with a large pan, I poured in 2 tbsp of canola oil and heated it up for one minute on medium high heat on the stove. Once heated up, I took tongs and put the chicken in the pan. I sautéed the chicken for 2 minutes on one side, and then flipped each piece and repeated. Once the chicken began to whiten, I poured in 1/2 cup of Texas Pete Buffalo Wing Sauce and stirred it around.

After I stirred in the buffalo sauce, the wings were ready to pop into the oven. The wings cooked for 10 minutes on 400 degrees, and I stirred them once. Prior to this, I prepared the brussels sprouts because they take longer to cook.

For the brussels sprouts, I took about 10 brussels sprouts, washed them, and cut them in half. I put them in a bowl with 2 tsp of olive oil, a dash of garlic salt, a dash of salt, and a dash of pepper. I then spread them on a cooking sheet, and put them in the oven on 400 degrees for 25 minutes. A nice tip for cooking brussels sprouts is when I put them on the cooking sheet, I put them with the face up to let them brown. These are good to compliment any dinner, and are extremely nutritious. dsc_0169

The buffalo wings and the brussels sprouts were done at the same time, and were perfectly cooked. I mixed in a little more buffalo sauce into the pan to make them extra hot, and then served them onto my plate. In addition to the sauce that is already on the wings, I like to take a small dipping bowl and mix ranch dressing with buffalo sauce, and heat it up in the microwave for 15 seconds. This mixture is something I have been doing since I was little when my dad made buffalo wings, and the ranch helps to calm down the hotness from the sauce.
dsc_0194

dsc_0192

dsc_0193

dsc_0195

Overall, I am thrilled with how my dinner turned out. The wings were spicy, delicious, and fun to make. I learned about how to cook chicken this week, which is something I have never done before. This week I used my skills from the past week with sautéing items on the stove, and I feel as if I could take some of the techniques I learned from cooking this chicken and put them towards what I choose to cook in the future. I am grateful to my dad for sending me this recipe in his cookbook, and I am happy I got to make one of his signature recipes. Next week, I plan to make another delicious meal and I am excited to share new tips and secrets that I learn.

-Tinsley

#8edit2000

Leave a Reply

