Genius Hour Cooking Week 1: Honey Garlic Shrimp

In the past 2 months that I have been at school, my nights have been quite boring for one main reason; I don’t know how to cook. Each night I have found something microwavable or pre-cooked that I can warm up for 2 minutes and eat, not because I am in a hurry, but really because thats all I know how to do. However fortunately for me, our class has been given the assignment to do a six week long Genius Hour assignment, which has inspired me to learn to cook.

Each week I plan to cook something different to gain knowledge in a variety of different areas. My dad is an amazing cook, so it is important to me that I learn how to do the same. Anyone who is interested in health, cooking, and accomplishing a goal can relate to my challenge. I am searching for tips and recipes in multiple areas such as Pinterest, cook books, and a personal cook book my Dad made for me. I will use Google as well to search for answers on questions I have.

For my first week, I wanted to cook a fish dinner. I went to Pinterest and searched for something that was healthy, looked delicious, and would challenge my skills and knowledge so that I would grow in my cooking. I found a recipe for Honey Garlic Shrimp and decided that I would take this on as my week one Genius Hour challenge.

screen-shot-2016-09-12-at-11-47-05-am

To begin, I went to Kroger and purchased all of the ingredients that the recipe called for.

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb. shrimp
  • 1/2 tablespoon ginger, minced
  • 1 tablespoon garlic, minced
  • 4 tablespoons honey
  • 2 tablespoons soy sauce

While at the grocery store, I looked to find the best deals on these items as well. I compared store brands to known brands, and chose fresh produce over prepackaged produce. I also bought green beans to sauté and serve with the shrimp. I found that buying fresh green beans instead of pre-cut and prepackaged green beans was a lot cheaper.

When I came home, I first washed the shrimp and began to cook. The first step in the recipe is making the sauce for the shrimp to marinate in. I did not know what marinating was so I googled it, and learned that it is soaking the shrimp in the sauce which allows it to pick up more flavor. So, I combined the ingredients to make the sauce, divided it in half like the recipe called for, and let the shrimp marinate for 25 minutes.

dsc_0073

Next I took a 10″ skillet, added some oil, and heated it to medium high heat. I put in half of the shrimp that had been marinating to give them enough space to cook. Using tongs, I let the shrimp brown on one side for about a minute, and then flipped them over to brown on the other side for about one minute. I repeated this with the remaining half of the shrimp, pressing the shrimp in to the skillet to allow it to get as much flavor as possible.

dsc_0076dsc_0078

After the shrimp had cooked in the skillet, I moved it to a bowl and drizzled the other half of the sauce that I created in the beginning onto the warm shrimp. I let the shrimp sit in the bowl and soak the flavor up while I began to work on the green beans.

For the green beans, I used my dad’s recipe that he put in a customized cook book for me.  It is a pretty simple process to cook these. I started by washing the green beans and cutting the ends off with cooking scissors. I then put 2 tablespoons of olive oil  into a skillet and heated it up for 1 minute on medium high heat. Next, I tossed in 2 garlic cloves, minced, and heated them until they began to brown. Once the garlic was browning, I threw in the green beans and a dash of salt. The key to cooking these green beans is to keep stirring them and cook them until they bend instead of snap. It took me about 5 minutes to cook them all the way, and then they were ready to serve. dsc_0087

Once the green beans were finished, it was time to dish up. The combination of the shrimp with the green beans created a delicious plate. I was extremely satisfied with what I had created. dsc_0084

dsc_0093

dsc_0107

So to conflude, I am highly satisfied with the food I prepared. It was healthy, tasty, and filled my appetite. I was so excited to send pictures and recaps of my food to my parents to show them what I did after I finished, and I am looking forward to learning more skills. I can now say that I know what it means to marinate fish, and to properly prepare a recipe. For the future, my goal is to learn how to make dishes like this without using a recipe. This genius hour challenge has really sparked an interest in me with cooking and I am truly prepared to take on the next 5 weeks. Stay tuned to see what I make next, and hopefully learn a new recipe too!

-Tinsley

#edit2000

Leave a Reply

