Hi, my name is Tinsley…

Hi, my name is Tinsley and I am here to tell you a little bit about myself and what I stand for. Below you will find my likes, dislikes, and some interesting things about me that might help you get to know me a little better.

The name Tinsley comes from my great-great-grandmother’s maiden name. She apparently had large dimples and a laugh just like mine, so my parents think it is a huge coincidence that I turned out just like her. In addition to having her dimples and her laugh, I have my dad’s eyes, brain, and pale skin. The only things I noticeably got from my mom are her hair and lack of cooking skills.

I grew up in Suwanee, Georgia where I spent my time at school, competitively swimming, or going to get cherry limeades with my friends at night. I went to both a private and a public school in my twelve years, and I believe that built more character in me than I could have ever imagined.

Starting in my junior year of high school, my parents had me tested for Attention-Deficit Disorder (ADD) which changed my entire life. Prior to being diagnosed, my parents and I had always struggled with understanding why I couldn’t make the same grades as my peers. Once I was medicated in 2012, I was able to make all A’s for the first time in my life therefore altering my outlook on academics and my potential. I got in to the University of Georgia on a random day in February with only 139 other students even though I told myself it would never be possible given my history. My past two years here have proven to me that ADD is not a setback, it is just a new path to take with different ways of thinking.

In my time here at UGA so far I have served on Deck Dawgs, the Disability Resource Center’s Speakers Bureau, and currently I serve as the Vice President of Community Service for my sorority. These things, among others, have helped me to see my growing potential in my life. This summer I interned at a company called MeetingAdvice which is a meeting and events planning company in Atlanta. It was the best experience I could have imagined, and I hope to pursue this career after I graduate.

Overall, my main dislikes include sour candy, regular milk, pop quizzes, and being late. However, my favorite things include shirley temples, any kind of sandwich, golfing with my grandma, swimming in the ocean, traveling with my parents, and my sweet dog Fletcher.
Screen Shot 2016-08-22 at 8.43.08 PM  IMG_3025
I hope my first post gave you a peek at who I am. I have many different sides and stories to tell, but hopefully you have the basics down! To see more about what a day in the life of me looks like, check out my first Flipagram on a typical Monday for me looks like right here!

-Tinsley

#8edit2000

Leave a Reply

